top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTattoo Magazine

Breathe | Claire Beaumont

I feel the cusp of unformed emotions bubbling up in my throat. They threaten to spill out at inopportune moments. A throwaway phrase, a hand gesture that is more forceful than it needs to be. Like the air I breathe, I gulp them down, and grimace at their sour taste. But then I see her. Still; non performative. The light shifting across her pillow and the contours of her sleeping form. In exhaustion, she finds solace. The clouds distort the sunlight that ebbs and flows in the room; a noiseless commuter with no place to be or time to be there. I hope- pray- for the sky to open up. First one raindrop. Tentatively, another follows. Then another. And another. And another. I turn away, and for just a moment, I can breathe again.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bottles | Emma Baker

The candlelight shone off the colored glass of the bottles that lined the shelves, flickering and illuminating the old, faded labels. Lightning of a summer storm. Winter wind. Time (1 yr). “Sir?” The

The Guardian | Emma Baker

He’s waited for such a very long time. For as far back as he can remember, he’s known of his task—to protect his king even if it costs him his life. And his master was a kind one, always making sure t

Hobbies | Claie Beaumont

Sometimes, when I’m doing nothing, I convince myself That I could be embarking on an adventure. An adventure of my consciousness. Distilling human nature Existential questions The yearnings of the hea

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page