top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTattoo Magazine

(SPRING 2021) Elves | Maggie Feinberg

Updated: Jan 20, 2022

When you live in Averno, you have to be very firm in your beliefs. So let me be clear: I do not believe in elves. I do not believe in ghosts. I do not believe in fairies. And I most certainly do not believe that there is anything “magical” about the forest.

Last night, when I was walking home along the path by the forest, I did not hear laughter drifting on the wind. And if I did, it was from the town, not the forest. And when I glanced into the forest, I did not see figures darting just beyond my field of vision. There are no elves in the forest.

When I accidentally kicked a rock into the forest on my way to school, I did not shrink away like it would retaliate. I did not hear a squeak like I’d hit something. I did not see a person-shaped shadow dart away into the trees. There are no elves in the forest.

The town newsletter, which reminds us not to swim in any bodies of water, is not unreasonably paranoid. There is nothing mysterious about the swimming hole. It is not haunted. It is nonetheless perfectly reasonable to avoid it, given its (completely explainable) history of people disappearing nearby. There are no elves in the forest.

My friend’s sister’s disappearance has a reasonable explanation. Disappearing without a trace isn’t suspicious at all. We don’t even know if it’s true that she disappeared next to the forest. She’s probably (no, definitely) safe. There are no elves in the forest.

My friend’s subsequent disappearance has just as much of a reasonable explanation. Right? It doesn’t have anything to do with the forest. It’s fine. It’s fine. IT’S FINE. There are no elves in the forest.

I’m getting the feeling not everything is as it seems.

There’s something in the forest.

I can hear her calling to me.

Her voice draws me in.

Maybe there are elves in the forest.

Maybe I should go and see.


Inspired by the Averno universe, created by Morgan Smith. For more information, visit avernotownship.com.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bottles | Emma Baker

The candlelight shone off the colored glass of the bottles that lined the shelves, flickering and illuminating the old, faded labels. Lightning of a summer storm. Winter wind. Time (1 yr). “Sir?” The

The Guardian | Emma Baker

He’s waited for such a very long time. For as far back as he can remember, he’s known of his task—to protect his king even if it costs him his life. And his master was a kind one, always making sure t

Breathe | Claire Beaumont

I feel the cusp of unformed emotions bubbling up in my throat. They threaten to spill out at inopportune moments. A throwaway phrase, a hand gesture that is more forceful than it needs to be. Like the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page