top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTattoo Magazine

Football And Old Friends | Kailyn Jordan

Updated: Feb 13, 2022

Part One

I saw you for the first time in almost two months.

Not that long.

But when you see someone everyday, even a week can feel like a lifetime.

My friend pointed you out.

Two rows back and to the left.

There were so many people with you but I noticed you immediately.

You were wearing yellow.

A color that two months ago would have been so forgien to your wardrobe.

I yelled your name even though I was scared of you ignoring me.

I wanted to be more outgoing.

Like you.

You looked excited to see me, but a wave and a smile was all I got.

Nothing like the hours of laughter we used to share.

But it was better than nothing.

Better than nothing.


Part Two

I saw you again.

While in line for concessions.

I tried keeping my attention on my friends.

But there you were.

It didn’t help that earlier I went down a rabbit hole of old pictures of us.

Downtown, with the space needle in the back.

When the game was over I tried to go over and say hi but I was too caught up

with my new friends.

Selfishly, I hoped your night was just as fun as mine.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bottles | Emma Baker

The candlelight shone off the colored glass of the bottles that lined the shelves, flickering and illuminating the old, faded labels. Lightning of a summer storm. Winter wind. Time (1 yr). “Sir?” The

The Guardian | Emma Baker

He’s waited for such a very long time. For as far back as he can remember, he’s known of his task—to protect his king even if it costs him his life. And his master was a kind one, always making sure t

Breathe | Claire Beaumont

I feel the cusp of unformed emotions bubbling up in my throat. They threaten to spill out at inopportune moments. A throwaway phrase, a hand gesture that is more forceful than it needs to be. Like the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page