top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTattoo Magazine

(SPRING 2021) Graffiti Don'ts | Elizabeth Howlett

Updated: Jan 20, 2022

In the corner of the living room

there was a large leather chair.

The perfect spot for hiding.

Only a child could fit their tiny body

in between it and the wall.

Not even the cleverest of witches

or the hungriest lollipop-waving child-catchers

could spot me behind the castle walls I imagined it to be.


It no longer appears so large;

It’s actually become quite normal-looking.

But not too long ago, I was crouching behind it,

taking my finger nail

and etching my name into the leather.

I was a master carver,

tallying the days

I was held prisoner in the tower.


My parents never looked back there until last week,

too bad I used my real name.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bottles | Emma Baker

The candlelight shone off the colored glass of the bottles that lined the shelves, flickering and illuminating the old, faded labels. Lightning of a summer storm. Winter wind. Time (1 yr). “Sir?” The

The Guardian | Emma Baker

He’s waited for such a very long time. For as far back as he can remember, he’s known of his task—to protect his king even if it costs him his life. And his master was a kind one, always making sure t

Breathe | Claire Beaumont

I feel the cusp of unformed emotions bubbling up in my throat. They threaten to spill out at inopportune moments. A throwaway phrase, a hand gesture that is more forceful than it needs to be. Like the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page