top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTattoo Magazine

Haunted House | Hallie Dickinson

I am a haunted house. There are ghosts in the living room of my stomach and ghouls in the

cabinets and everyone is too scared to go into the basement between my thighs. They have heard

the stories about how no one ever comes back from there the same, how they are missing fingers

and tongues and never had invitations. They have heard how someone else built this home I live

in, like I have any right to this spectral body, like I have earned my demons, like I deserve to have

a cemetery for a foundation. And if I am a haunted house then where do I go the rest of the year

when I am out of season? What is the refuge for a breaking thing? If I am a haunted house then

these bones must be an attic where sheet covered furniture brushes up against you like a black

cat. My head must be the framework that shakes in the windblown through the trees of my hair.

And if I am a haunted house why am I so lonely? Why does no one ever visit? Am I too trauma

for your holiday tour? My skeleton does not glow in the dark or dance when you pull a string but

it does hold me up and my skin does not rot off in chunks but it does keep my organs in and my

eyes do not dangle from threads but they do see the way you look at me during the sexual assault

prevention assembly and if I am a haunted house, was I once just a house? Will there be an

exorcism without a demolition? Can I ever be rid of the screaming?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bottles | Emma Baker

The candlelight shone off the colored glass of the bottles that lined the shelves, flickering and illuminating the old, faded labels. Lightning of a summer storm. Winter wind. Time (1 yr). “Sir?” The

The Guardian | Emma Baker

He’s waited for such a very long time. For as far back as he can remember, he’s known of his task—to protect his king even if it costs him his life. And his master was a kind one, always making sure t

Breathe | Claire Beaumont

I feel the cusp of unformed emotions bubbling up in my throat. They threaten to spill out at inopportune moments. A throwaway phrase, a hand gesture that is more forceful than it needs to be. Like the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page