top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTattoo Magazine

(SPRING 2021) Maybe Someday... | Isabella Encinosa

Updated: Jan 20, 2022

All I want is for you to be impressed

But all I get is a “good job” and depressed

I try so hard at everything I do

And all this work is just to show you

That I can be successful with my right brain being creative

Though I understand you only see this as being unproductive

You want the best for me, but why does the best have to be engineering or business

Why must art and writing only be seen as a hobby because to you it’s meaningless?

Oh please give me a guided handbook to be more like you

Matter of fact make me out of clay and mold me on what to do

If it were up to you, you would do that anyway

Maybe even put me in a case to be on display

Because I’m perfect, as long as the left brain is always in control

Shoving down the right when it’s on a midnight stroll

Academic awards are what you find fun

But even then it’s the same “well done”

I’m sorry you’re unable to make a clone out of me

But that doesn’t mean you must always disagree

It’s not exactly my fault creative instincts are coursing through my veins

But at least some creativity can help me numb the pain

I try to be perfect in everything I set my mind to

Only you have certain interests you want me to pursue

So alright, okay, I’ll take a crack at space, science, business, or coding

Forget all my “hobbies” and hope my brain doesn’t start imploding

But no worries, as long as you’re happy, I’m fine

I’m sure one day I’ll turn out as the next Einstein

I’ll go through my life as an universal genius being wowed

It’s worth it in the end if you finally say that you’re proud


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bottles | Emma Baker

The candlelight shone off the colored glass of the bottles that lined the shelves, flickering and illuminating the old, faded labels. Lightning of a summer storm. Winter wind. Time (1 yr). “Sir?” The

The Guardian | Emma Baker

He’s waited for such a very long time. For as far back as he can remember, he’s known of his task—to protect his king even if it costs him his life. And his master was a kind one, always making sure t

Breathe | Claire Beaumont

I feel the cusp of unformed emotions bubbling up in my throat. They threaten to spill out at inopportune moments. A throwaway phrase, a hand gesture that is more forceful than it needs to be. Like the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page